Let’s make jewellery

Paper Beads are so easy to do all you have to decide is how many strings of them to make, different sizes and what you might add. I think I got inspired by the necklaces Prue Leith wears on GBBO!!!!!! Big , bold and colourful.

Ok so let’s get started. You will need pages from magazines, scissors, string and glue. Also a pencil to make your beads on. You could use anything for this as long as you can thread the beads.

The sheets you choose will determine the colour of your beads.

I chose a sheet and on the back of it marked 2 cms along the top and on the bottom 1cm and then 2 cms along. So the point of your triangle is half way.So whatever size you choose the opposite end needs to be halfway. Try experimenting with different sizes wider, shorter ,longer etc.

So now you have lots of very long triangles ready to be made into beads.

Ok so now you are going to wrap the triangle around the pencil. Put some glue on the start and then start wrapping around.If you wrap too tight you might find it difficult to remove from pencil and if you are too loose they won’t hold their shape very well. As you wrap add a little glue here and there to keep it in place.

You are now at the end so glue last bit down. Gently remove from pencil.

So you now have your first bead!!!! yay!!! So now just repeat. Don’t forget when you are wrapping try to keep the bit you are wrapping central as much as possible.

So you have made lots of beads. Thread with string, thread, yarn etc. DON’T forget to tie the necklace or the beads will fall off. I have made this mistake before.You could make different lengths, make lots of them to make more volume. You can now add, if you want to, extra bits. I wanted to make a big statement so I needed a bit of cardboard ( pizza base) and some acrylic paint.

So I just splurged some paint down as I like abstract paintings.

I cut a shape out but felt still too big so I cut it down again.

I felt it needed something else so I scrunched up some Easter egg foil.

Thought about adding some bits of the magazine.

She is at it again!!!!!! ” Mine all mine” !!!!!

In the end I used the piece I had cut off as I liked the shape it made and glued it on top. So have fun making yours and even if you don’t want a necklace a grown up, a neighbour etc might love to get one as a gift. I would love to see your work. I am on Instagram readysteady_glue ( there is just 2 photos on there! ) so if you know how to put your images on that please do as I would love to see your work.

Published by readysteadyglue

Hello ! I am a single mum to a whirlwind of a boy!I love crafting with and for him .My degree was Fashion Design BA at Trent Poly and I love all things design from illustrating to taps!!! I hope you join me on my journey into blogging with hopefully lots of fun craft ideas and book reviews.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started