Let’s play a game

Last year I had the amazing privilege of working on a project as a Creative Practitioner in a school in Swansea. The first thing I did with the children was play this game.I was very surprised that in a very large group hardly anyone had played this before.I have to say they loved seeing the finished results, there was a lot of laughing at some of the outcomes!

It is the Victorian parlour game ‘ Consequences’. Originally the paper would have been folded and passed around but I prefer to cut the sheet of paper into 3. This way you can swap them around if you do lots or can make into a flip book . If eventually you want to make a flip book you need to mark the neck and waist in the same place every time.

1 ) you need to fold your piece of paper into 3. 2)Once folded you need to mark two lines to form the neck which has to be seen on the top and middle piece. 3) You need to mark two lines on the middle and lower pieces for the waist.
So you have now cut the sheet in 3. You can see the neck to draw your head-on to. The more detail the better. It can be a person, animal, monster etc. Has the monster got a hat on etc etc
So the middle section you can see where the neck is and the waist. So you are drawing the body !What outfit is your character wearing?
Last of all the legs or tentacles or whatever you can imagine!!!! Obviously you can see with the two lines where the waist starts.
This is one we did this week. As it is just me and my son someone has to do head and legs.If there are a few of you get everyone involved.The more detail etc you put in the better the outcome.I love playing this game so hope you have fun drawing lots of crazy characters.

Published by readysteadyglue

Hello ! I am a single mum to a whirlwind of a boy!I love crafting with and for him .My degree was Fashion Design BA at Trent Poly and I love all things design from illustrating to taps!!! I hope you join me on my journey into blogging with hopefully lots of fun craft ideas and book reviews.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started